The 2020 Bocconi Alumnus of the Year is Andrea Enria

The 2020 Bocconi Alumnus of the Year is Andrea Enria


Andrea Enria, president of the ECB Supervisory Board, is the Bocconi Alumnus of the Year 2020. The award is conferred by the Bocconi Alumni Community (today over 120,000 members gathered in 69 chapters worldwide) every year since 1988 to a particularly distinguished alumnus or alumna.

"Being nominated Alumnus of the Year 2020 means a lot to me. I consider it an important recognition of the work I have done, especially at the European level, in these difficult years of crisis and banking reforms. like this one can see the importance of the European project for citizens. The new European rules and the single supervisory mechanism have made a fundamental contribution in recent years for the strengthening of the banking system in all member states. action the banking system has managed to make a positive contribution to the immediate fight against the economic consequences of the pandemic. We are facing a difficult period, but we are now able to provide integrated answers to common problems, with strong European authorities and an intense collaboration with national authorities. This is the true function of Europe, as I started learning in my years of studies at Bocconi University and then tried to implement use in the first person in many years of public service, in Italy and in the European institutions ».

"Andrea Enria has centered his entire career as a civil servant on a sector of extreme importance for the international economy, distinguishing himself for merit, professional excellence and for the spirit of service to Italian and European institutions", explains Riccardo Monti, president of Bocconi Alumni Community. "With a solid background as an economist, he has established himself in the international context not only for his great technical skills, but also for his independence and seriousness".

He joined the Bank of Italy in 1988 and, at the foundation of the ECB in 1999, he moved to Frankfurt to work with another illustrious Bocconian, Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa, then a member of the ECB Directorate and 1989 Alumnus of the Year. In 2004, he moved to London as Secretary General of the Committee of European Banking Supervisors. Then, in 2008, he returned to the Bank of Italy where he headed the Supervisory Regulations and Policies Department, until he became the first Chair of the newly formed EBA (European Banking Authority) in 2011. His term was renewed in 2016.

It was at the EBA that Enria enacted the first attempt to standardize national banking supervision regulations and procedures. Among other things, in 2011 he introduced the first stress test in Europe, which has since become a regular fixture to check the health of the European banking system.

These are the winners of the past:
Urbano Cairo, 2019
Francesca Bellettini, 2018
Luca de Meo, 2017
Stefano Sassi, 2016
Giuseppe Sala, 2015
Federico Marchetti, 2014
Joerg Asmussen, 2013
Giovanni Ciserani, 2012
Fabrizio Saccomanni, 2011
Diego Piacentini and Laura Cioli, 2010
Nouriel Roubini and Giovanni Castellucci, 2009
Alberto Cribiore and Gaetano Micciché, 2008
Paolo Cuccia, 2007
Enrico Cucchiani, 2006
Vittorio Grilli, 2005
Claudio Costamagna, 2004
Vittorio Colao, 2003
Paolo Scaroni, 2002
Marco Drago, 2001
Corrado Passera, 2000
Renato Soru, 1999
Emma Bonino, 1998
Alessandro Profumo, 1997
Emma Marcegaglia, 1996
Isabella Ventura, 1995
Carlo Scognamiglio, 1994
Marco Tronchetti Provera, 1993
Giovanni Giudici, 1992
Lucio Stanca, 1991
Jody Vender, 1990
Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa, 1989
Giordano Zucchi, 1988
Roberto Mazzotta, 1987

by Andrea Celauro

Latest Articles Alumni

Go to archive
  • Elisa, from Via Sarfatti to Campi Elasi

    A multifaceted musician, the CLEACC alumna released her first Ep: How to be proactive? I learned it at Bocconi

  • Silvia Candiani Is the New President of the Alumni

    The alumna and CEO of Microsoft Italy succeeds Riccardo Monti at the head of the Bocconi Alumni Community

  • Enria, a European born in Bocconi

    Andrea Enria, President of the ECB Supervisory Board, received the 2020 Bocconi Alumnus of the Year award. Mario Draghi's homage during the ceremony


Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29